What Looking for a Job is Really Like

12482493

Let’s get this out of the way first – apologies for not actually blogging. (Paid) work has been relatively busy with new clients coming onboard and the fact that I scheduled a day just me, myself and I. Feeling like I needed a break in my now daily 9-5 routine, I wanted to take time to sip my tea slowly and not eat lunch at my desk.

Also I apologize for not being a very good at keeping in touch with my readers. I should be reading your posts more and generally dropping more comments. I do, however, occasionally enjoy just playing the role of the silent spectator. If you’ve noticed a drop in the number, quality and heart in my pieces, you’re not crazy. Perhaps my creativity has been muffled by my hours at work. Maybe I’m just lazy. I confess that I’ve also been slack with incorporating new vocabulary into my writing. This probably has something to do with me not visiting the library as much as I used to.

I’m beginning to open myself up to the world of audibooks, podcasts and streaming music once again. It’s obviously different from having a book in your hands and turning the pages, but I consider it a new way of reading. They’ve etched a new path of escapism for me.

I know I have at least a handful who regularly stop by to see what I have to say, so now the microphone is on you. Do you have any recommended reading lists for me?

Now back to the topic. What is looking like a job really like? It’s honestly like looking for a boyfriend, girlfriend or a significant other. Interviews are just like dates. A lot of the time, it doesn’t even have to do with you, but a huge factor called timing. You may think it’s conicidence that you bumped into that girl at the cafe. You could also miss her, just by walking past. Just imagine, you’ve walked past so many potential dates already.

But not to fret, it doesn’t mean that there aren’t other dates lined up for you.

Every no you receive, is actually a blessing. I know that it sure doesn’t feel like it at the time (feels more like someone kicking you when you’re already down), but really, it just wasn’t meant to be. And if you think that I’m just being horrendously wistful here, then just take note that you’re doing yourself no favors by bogging yourself down by negativity.

You just have to push on.

And just like relationships, there are some jobs that are absolutely worse than being unemployed. Some relationships are trouble from the start and later down the track, you’ll realize that you never should have started. You call quits. But what about the children? They need us to stay together. It wouldn’t be fair on them just because we don’t get along. Sound familiar?

Being single isn’t the worse thing in the world.

With most things in the world though, you should never trade your health – be it mental, physical or emotional for something that can be found again. It isn’t worth it. Time and health are just two things that you can never get back. Money, on the other hand, can be made in other ways.

Likewise, do not put all your eggs in one basket. Although it is very inspiring to hear a story of someone hitting the jackpot with their dreams, they are made of a mixture of hard work, luck and stupidity audacity to dream big. Dreamers are, after all, going against all odds. The problem with doing what you love as a job, is that it is a job. The legendary Hayao Miyazaki of Studio Ghibli fame understood this. With the commercial world, you will be required to work a set number of hours but not necessarily be productive or creative. You might even start to loathe your so-called work. You don’t want to be that person.

And I know there’s some of you out there that think that unpaid internships may be a good idea. You’ve been looking for a long time, I get it. But no. DON’T. If my mother hadn’t talked some sense into me, I might have been just like David. It’s on par with exploitation and short-term modern day slavery, and it will continue as long as we allow it to. What David should have done is protested, started a petition and refused to work without pay. The United Nations is supposed to be protecting human rights, not disregarding them. There is no guarantee of a job after an internship anyway, and you’ll just have wasted a whole lot of time spending money, instead of making it.

It’s great for you if it works, but it’s like a train wreck if it doesn’t. It’s soul-crushing, and a huge blow to your self-esteem. If unpaid internships were a kind of relationship, it would be one where a leeching scrub dangled a carrot in front of a horse.

tl;dr: Spend your time wisely; find someone who will appreciate your worth.

Leave a Reply

