A Lunch Break for a Peanut Butter Sandwich

I suppose it’s time for a break and to explain my absence. In all honesty, I may be in need for a day to myself. Time to reflect, time to kill.

And despite being neglectful of my own needs and writing, there does come a moral to this story. Reddit is doing another one of their great secret Santa events for teachers. A lot of schools don’t get the public funding they need, which means less resources for educating kids.

And just to let you know, I am in no way sponsored by Reddit to promote this event, but if you’re too late for the main event, why not be a rematcher? Though I hate to say it, someone’s always going to default. But also, what better way is there to brighten a stranger’s day and pay it forward?

Of course you can just sign up to any other secret Santa event to give and receive – after all, one can only exist without the other. Likewise, if you’re not in a good financial position to actually partake in secret Santa, you could always just pass the giving bug on. Otherwise, pooling resources is a good idea. Maybe with a group of friends and/or family, you could come up with $20…

But honestly being a teacher is one of the most glorified and underrated jobs of all time and most get very little thanks for it. These are people that are meant to be educating the minds that will make up the future. Even the most skilled builder wouldn’t be able to put together a house without the right tools (and let’s not forget, at least one of my readers is a teacher… ).

One of my warmest memories was a time where I had forgotten to bring my lunch. Luckily for me, my school would hand out sandwiches (usually peanut butter or Marmite) to kids who didn’t have lunch – no questions asked. My assigned ‘buddy’ (an older student who would accompany us on certain events), who was no older than 13 at the time handed me a Marmite sandwich with a smile on her face. Now that time I had just forgotten my lunch. For other kids, it was pretty much their only way of getting lunch at school.

Not everyone in life is born with the same hand. Some will have royal flushes and some will have hands so bad it might not be worth even gambling. Yes, good things happen to good people and bad things happen to bad people. But sometimes bad things happen to good people too. I grew up in a street where it was not uncommon to hear of things like domestic violence and for kids to go hungry. One of my friends in elementary school was a pretty, mixed Maori girl. She was always very kind to me but she would often come to school with tears in her eyes. It’s only caught up with me years later that she was potentially a victim of abuse. It’s more prevalent than we realize, if only we took the time to feel.

Now even if you don’t sign up to any of Reddit’s secret Santa events, I won’t blame you. After all, it’s your decision. But it’s break time for me. Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich, anyone?

One thought on “A Lunch Break for a Peanut Butter Sandwich

Leave a Reply

