Whiplash, A 100-word Story

That is all one needs to break. One step forward, two steps back.

Old memories return every night to haunt me. My past playing back, over and over again like a broken record.

I take another swig from the bottle, hoping to drown it all out.

But it never does.

Boom. Even in silence, I can still hear the screams.

But it is her face that I cannot forget. Her eyes – gentle and brown, swelling with tears, staring back. Hair tangled, blood soaked.

Losing heat, all I could do was hold her in my arms.

I wish it were me.

P.S. Sometimes relapse is something I’d rather not deal with, but a story to wake up my new followers. Thanks for following – I’ll be sure to visit all of your blogs sometime.

2 thoughts on “Whiplash, A 100-word Story

Leave a Reply

