Derailed: Getting Back on Track

Now I know I’ve been missing out on the joys and wonders of WordPress, but at the same time I’ve been trying not to flub up too much at work and you know, keeping my job. That being said, I’ve learnt a tonne of stuff that I would have otherwise not learnt had I not made those mistakes. I’ve also been brought back down a little to Earth by people that don’t care.

Should you care about this post? Well no, actually.

The thing about caring is that it’s a response. Sure, you can feign caring but in the end, you’re just pretending to care. The only time that you will care is when something strikes a nerve and affects you on some personal level. Though there are plenty of things I care about, there are a myriad of things that I don’t lose sleep over. I’d honestly (and am) more offended by people who pretend to give a crap about something that they don’t give a crap about. It reminds me of a time when I was watching TV, and a lady said, “I would happily give everything I own so that someone can live better.” Pfft. Just do it already, woman. I see you hiding behind your sunglasses.

I almost wasn’t going to write this post – not because of the fear of contention, but because of procrastination. You see, I can drum out a post pretty easily and quickly by pen or keyboard but at the same time, I enjoy shortcuts (learnt the hard way that cutting corners is not a good idea at work) and being lazy, Yes, there I said it. I admit that I can be rather slothful at times. At the same time, I can be a real perfectionist (or at least very obsessive-compulsive) when it comes to certain things – like getting all the extras in a video game. Sometimes I do wish that I could be that way with other things, but then I remember that if I cared enough to start it, I’ll finish it. Always.

I remember that one time I said that I don’t actually care for most news. The reason is that most journalism goes into shock stories that aim to sell. Other times soft news (which isn’t really news at all, in my opinion) about some girl twerking onstage and scaring the living daylights out of most parents fills the screen. You’ll probably be much happier not caring so much about things that are really, apropos of nothing.

You can’t care about everything. And it doesn’t do you any good to. Remember, just like sex (Statement, Example, eXplantion), quality over quantity always wins the day. I’m not saying that you should care about nothing. I’m saying you’ll care when you care. There’s no point of me harking on about something that doesn’t personally affect you, your friends your family or anyone that you personally know. If it’s so far removed from your situation, why would you?

Now actually, I have no idea what that whole thing was about, but it’s not like you should actually care. Just trying to get back into the rhythm of blogging. I don’t even know if I’m pretending to care or not. Bah, humbug.

2 thoughts on “Derailed: Getting Back on Track

Leave a Reply

