Change II

Adjusting to change is hard.

In fact, the first day at work was extremely hard. Not only because I didn’t know exactly what the heck I was doing, but a lot of things weren’t ready yet – like user accounts and software. After being out of the regular work so long, I was full of anxiety and doubt. I felt inadequate. I came back home the first day from work thinking, ‘Why did I even sign the contract? I want to quit already.’

Things were hard for the first week because I was still getting settled. I started to think differently. I thought, ‘Well it’s not so bad. I can always leave if I really hate this job. Nothing is holding me back from walking out that door and not coming back.’

Not to mention, this is my first real 9-5 job. I’ve worked anywhere from 40-50 hours some weeks before, but they weren’t common. Having an actual routine flipped my schedule back on its head, and before you know it I was complaining about 40 hours being taken away from me.

Just now, the end of the second week.

I’m feeling much better. The boss gives me very good, constructive feedback on the work I have done. I ask for help if I need it. I don’t feel inadequate anymore. I’m more productive and I’m actually learning. I actually want to learn more now to do better at my job. This may sound strange, but I think I’m actually starting to like it.

Change is inevitable. It’s how you deal with it that makes the difference.

4 thoughts on “Change II

  1. Glad to read that you feel much better now and you start to like your job. Somehow I think the first period at a new job is always tiring – the adjusting and getting used to a whole new rhythm can cost lots of energy. Probably I will experience similar things in a few weeks too, when I start my new job. I hope your job will develop more and more positive, and keep going the good work 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks sharktoothsweather! I’m glad to see you stop by. And I definitely agree with that. The first week is by far the hardest of ANY job I have ever held. I still forget that though. Heh.

      And so very glad to hear of your good news too! Well done and congratulations. I hope you learn many new things and remember: we are actually more resilient than we give ourselves credit for. Thanks for your kind words — I will strive to get better as long as I can manage.

      All the best for your new change too. Look forward to hearing about when you start.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

