Why Poetry Jam?

If you were wondering where (and what) my poetry jam series was about, this is the piece to read. Poetry Jam hasn’t ended, but I’ve decided it is time for it to go in another direction to solidify my works in a publishable format. That is, digital self-publishing for the single woman.

And why the name poetry jam? Well, it’s a little bit silly since most of the poetry I’ve written for that series is written from a child’s perspective and the name is more than adequate.

But wait, aren’t you at least 21? Yes, but that shouldn’t stop you (or me) from being able to write short shorts to express a point or view or just write nonsensically.

“When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am 50, I read them openly. When I became a man, I put away childish things – including fear of childishness and the desire to be grown up.”

— C.S. Lewis

On the other side of the coin, stands a very dim-lighted center stage and a lone microphone. Poetry jam for me was a little bit like open-mic night. Exposing your work – your thoughts – leaves you, like any performer, a little vulnerable to any ridicule or open praise. It is there for the world to see. But at the same time, it can open your world up to other people and recognition that you would otherwise never have had the chance to receive.

Though silly the poems may be, there is oftentimes an ounce or two in truth in them. Take for example, I Test. With 20/20 vision or corrected eyesight, you can see everything. With blurred vision, perhaps you can only make out the first couple of lines. I can certify this because I discovered my myopia around the age of 10 through compulsory eye tests at school.

For a tl;dr (too long, didn’t read version) for why poetry jam:

Departure Time

A hug, a kiss is all it takes,
A gentle smile on your face,
A nod, a wave of the hand
Is it time for that?
I don’t want this to end.

It’s not over, you smirk,
With a wink and a grin.
See you again on my next crazy whim.

Leave a Reply

