A Quote Not For Thee

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Not for Thee.”

I have had the wonderful privilege of having an array of beautiful, athletic, charming and intellectually-gifted friends. It has always been somewhat of a struggle measuring up to them, but they’ve never rejected me, nonetheless. Seeing that I used to spend a lot of time just wasting it, I always felt a bit guilty until I saw on her MSN status (this was before Facebook came along) one day:

“Time you enjoy is not wasted.”

My eyes widened and I smiled. It is something that I don’t want to give away, since I’m just learning that this is the truth. I’ve felt guilty many times before for simply enjoying time and not doing anything the world sees as productive. So until I’ve learnt to take my own medicine, I really shouldn’t be dishing it out.

Leave a Reply

